My Favorite Works of Art Inspired by Starry Night

In general, I think most people disregard “modern art.” We look down on those paintings that aren’t pretty, seem to have no discernible meaning, have an incredibly high price tag, and were probably created by a hipster. For instance, here’s Black Square by Kazimir Malevich, often referred to as “the zero point of painting.”

Malevich.black-square.jpg
So deep, so mysterious, so…black. Except that one bit there.

A few years ago, I went to the Museum of Modern Art in Glasgow with a friend and we spent the entire trip either giggling or being very confused. I’d say there were a few things I found intriguing, but I did not feel emotionally moved by anything the way I felt the first time I saw Van Gogh’s Starry Night.

Of course, there have been a million works of art inspired by Starry Night since then, but the vast majority of them are either studies/recreations of the work, or just add in famous characters without adding any original content whatsoever. I can’t recall how many dorm rooms I walked into in school that had the Dr. Who/Starry Night poster plastered on the walls. While I like that poster, I feel like the only reason I like it is because it is like Starry Night. I also love the Hogwarts version and every single Charlie Brown version I’ve seen, they’re just not different enough to stand on their own.

There are, however, those far and few between works that truly move beyond being a recreation and add to the conversation. Here are a few of my favorites (in no particular order).

1. Starry Night by Alex Ruiz

I love the idea of making the “inspiration” of a work the work itself. This clever twist on the iconic piece is mesmerizing. If you don’t know this guy by name, you’ll definitely know him by his work. He’s had a hand in The Simpsons, Eragon, Halo, Avatar, Family Guy, etc.

2. Starry Night Interactive

Animating the painting and letting people play with it is simply genius. This video is hypnotic. (You can download the app here on Android and here on iPhone.)

3. Daan Roosegaarde‘s Starry Night inspired Bike Path

Van Gogh Fietspad.jpg

While I love the “art for art’s sake” mentality, you bet I would ride my bike every night if this was in my neighborhood.

4. Van Gogh on Dark Water

This captures the movement in the piece like no other medium can.

5. StarryNightmare by FrozenTempest


I know what you’re thinking, but you’re wrong. I did say that I don’t count those works that just copy & paste without doing their own thing. But, this piece does do its own thing! Digital painting is not the same as oil painting or stop-motion animation, for one. More importantly, this piece mixes the look of The Nightmare Before Christmas and Starry Night together and has its own unique style, and it’s absolutely gorgeous.

What do you think? What’s your favorite Starry Night inspired work of art?

Please support all these very talented people by checking out their other art.

Leave a Reply

