The Wedding

My wedding was not one that most little girls would have imagined while playing with Barbie. There was no cake, no rice thrown, no church, no reception. And I am so glad that it turned out that way. Instead of worrying about whether or not all the decorations were the way I wanted them, worrying about the food, or whatever arrangements we would have made otherwise, I was simply elated that everything came together and that my friends were there with us.

I woke up around 8, showered, and hubby went out to the bank so we could pay our officiant (not for doing the service, but because he had to use this really expensive babysitting place). Hubby came back with Jack in the Box. I ate my breakfast burrito and made sure everyone was up to speed.

Our officiant, D, was in my new hire class for my technical support job. Hubby and I had started playing Dungeons and Dragons a few months ago with D, his wife, another friend from tech support, and one of D’s wife’s friends. When we first started playing, D had joked that he could marry us at one of our D&D sessions. I had planned on taking him up on marrying us, eventually, not on a D&D night, but at a full ceremony with white dress & all. Well, obviously, that’s not what happened and our D&D sessions ended fairly decisively after our shift bid at work put us all on different schedules.

Our first witness, A, was on my team after our new hire class was initially split up to fill existing teams. She is one of the nicest, most caring people I’ve ever met. Technical support has not crushed her love for other people, which is quite the feat.

D arrived first and since A wants to start playing D&D, we went over game mechanics and such while waiting for H to arrive. I can’t really call H my “better half” since that title definitely goes to the Hubby, but it feels almost as applicable. We were both English majors though her second major was history and mine was economics. And until I took the new job last week, we were both working in call centers. She is already so much part of the family that Hubby calls her his second wife. Anyway, she landed, got the rental car, and booked it to the apartment.

The ceremony took approximately three minutes. We got outside, everyone decided where they would stand, I showed our neighbor how to use my camera, and then it was time. D asked if there was anything we wanted to say to each other before the ceremony started and there was a bit of a pause. I just said, “I love you,” and hubby said he loves me too. Then D asked if we took each other as husband and wife, we said we did, we kissed, and we were married. We went back in the apartment, had everyone sign the papers, D and A left (A had to work and D went to get his son), and we took H out to eat.

I don’t know if most couples are ready for the ceremony to be over so they can be alone with their new spouse, but Hubby and I had so much fun being good hosts for H. We gave her the book lover’s tour of the area and Hubby got both H and I Kindles completely spontaneously. After we were all pooped out from shopping, we came home and changed out of fancy clothes – Hubby and I both rewore the same clothes we wore on our first date – and I took them out to dinner. Hubby had to do homework – so very romantic – so H and I watched Deadpool and then we all went to bed.

The next morning, I woke up early and Jason told me he had had a dream about pie – sweet cherry pie! He then fell back asleep and when he got up a few hours later had no recollection of that. Sadly, he had to work, so H and I had the afternoon to ourselves before she had to fly home.

What exciting things did we do? She went with me to clear out my desk at old job and turn in my badge and company phones and then we briefly went to the mall. We tried to tell her that she didn’t have to go and she could just stay forever with us but she wasn’t having it.

On Monday, I did start my new job, but you will hear all about that in a future post. All I want to say now is that I am incredibly happy and blessed to have Jason as my husband and that I have the best friends and family anyone could ask for. My family was a little taken aback since they all found out after the fact that we had made it official (except my mom, since I had to call her for some information to put on the wedding license), but they accepted our “snap” decision and I wouldn’t change a thing.

In short, while my wedding board on Pinterest has over 100 pins and I had some grand schemes in the back of my mind for the big day, I didn’t need any of that. I got exactly what I wanted – I got married to the man of my dreams and get to spend the rest of my life with him. Nothing could be better.

One thought on “The Wedding

Leave a Reply

